Close this search box.

Alex Txikon could attack the Annapurna summit

alexTxikon, Ang Gyalu, Tashi, Lakpa, Moises, Passang Nurbu, Ming Temba, Pemba, Andres Navamuel and Mattia Conte reached Annapurna C2 (5,600 m) in the third high altitude rotation of their winter expedition.

Thus, the team took about two and a half hours to cover the distance between C1 (5,150 m) and C2 (5,600 m). Weather conditions gave a respite to the climbers, who, with a good pace and good weather, ascended without any problems, unlike their ascent to Camp 1 the previous day when they encountered an avalanche. they encountered an avalanche. While Navamuel and Gyalu descended to Base Camp, the rest remain at Camp 2 where temperatures are expected to be close to minus 25 degrees Celsius.

The new weather forecasts continue with good weather, Txikon would try this Thursday to reach C3, and, if they are well as they are so far, at night he would undertake a possible attack to the summit.

Txikon departed on November 29 from Bilbao. He completed three weeks of acclimatization at not excessively high altitudes. He arrived at Annapurna Base Camp on December 21 with the onset of astronomical winter.

Hespent Christmas Eve at Camp 1. On December 26 he reached Camp 3 (6,400 meters). He then returned to Base Camp where he spent three days. On December 30 they undertook the second high altitude rotation of their winter expedition to Annapurna. That same night some slept at Camp 1 (5,150 m) and others at Base Camp to climb directly to Camp 2.

On December 31, Txikon, Pemba or Mig Temba climbed from C1 to C2, where they spent the night. On January 1 they deposited the rest of the necessary material at C3. Bad weather prevented them from continuing to Camp 4 or attempting the summit attack. They returned to Base Camp where they remained until January 9, where they began the ascent again to reach Camp 1 and this Wednesday, January 10, to Camp 2.

Annapurna has not been climbed in winter for almost 37 years. On February 3, 1987, the Poles Jerzy Kukuczka and Artur Hajzer set foot on the summit in an expedition that also included Krzysztof Wielicki and Wanda Rutkiewicz, but did not reach the summit. That same year, the Japanese Noboru Yamada, Toshiyuki Kobayashi, Yasuhira Saito and Teruo Saegusa crowned Annapurna on December 20. For purists it would not be a fully winter summit as it was achieved one day before the beginning of the astronomical winter.